Day 307

Twenty years ago I was staying with Alexandra Berkowitz Balaji at Kibbutz Shamir in northern Israel. I was trying to follow Pulp Fiction in Hebrew on TV when we were all jolted by confused news breaks and phone calls informing us that prime minister Rabin had been assassinated by a right wing extremist who didn’t want him to finalize a peace deal with Arafat.

I remember being so hopeful in 1995 that peace was possible for Israel and her neighbors. I remember thinking as we took the bus back down to Jerusalem “this is going to change everything.”

Here’s the poem I published in 1999 about my experience.

~ by realsupergirl on November 4, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
