Day 330

We had a lovely dinner with old friends of ours,  and it was great.  But  as we were leaving the restaurant, the father in the family picked up my son, now 3.5, and tried to carry him.  My son protested but not with words, the father persisted, clearly thinking he would eventually find it fun,  but my son doesn’t work that way.  A few seconds later, he out my son down, and I jumped in to reassure my son that he was fine, but also that all he had to say was that he didn’t like it.  

The thing is, this is a common adult thing,  a common adult man thing, I think: Rough play and being physical when kids aren’t into it.  

I’m not sure why this trend exists.  I want to empower my son to know he gets to decide when he wants to be physical, and to respect others’ wishes and physicality. I want adults to also give this message, to him and other kids.  

~ by realsupergirl on November 28, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
