Day 335

So I completed day 2 of the Couch to 5K program I downloaded as a free app.  I have been frustrated with my weight plateauing – I lost about 35 pounds when I went in my “no whites” diet (no white sugar, rice, or flour)  it haven’t lost any more.  I desperately want back under 200 pounds.  I got down to 194 and now I’ve floated back up between 205 and 210.  I also would love to be off medication for high blood pressure, and my father managed to do it upping his exercise regimen.  And other health reasons…

But my father is a jock, and retired, so he has more time to get exercise.  Moreover, I hate exercising.  It’s not that I hate being active – I hate exercising for the sake of exercising.  When I lived in Portland I biked so much more, but now I live in a very hilly party of a city that is frankly a little scary to bike in.  I love to go hiking, but who has time to do that during the week.  Also, there’s just a million things I’d rather do than working out,  like seeing friends, movies, writing. Making art. 

So this week, I canceled my gym membership and started the couch to 5k.  Why?  Because I already walk to work.  It’s .7 miles and I need to go about 1.5 miles to get in the minutes.  So rather than figure out how to squeeze in a two hour round trip to the yen, I can just add on a 10 minute loop to my commute home, and call it good. I think it can commit to doing that 1-2 times a week, and then 1 weekend run is easy to do at nap time.

Basically, I need to make “working out” take as little extra time out of my life as possible.  It’s taken me 42 years on this planet to figure this out.  Hopefully this is the insight I need to make a regimen stick.

~ by realsupergirl on December 3, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
